Home > News&Events > News > Content

Nicolai Reshetikhin won the Weyl-Wigner Award of 2022

The 2022 Weyl-Wigner Award has been awarded to Nicolai Reshetikhin of the University of California at Berkeley (USA) for his seminal contributions to representation theory of quantum groups, integrable systems and their applications in statistical mechanics and quantum field theory.The Award Ceremony will take place at Group34.

The International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics (ICGTMP) is one of the traditional conference series covering the most important topics of symmetry which are relevant to the interplay of present-day mathematics and physics.

The collaboration between The Group Theory and Fundamental Physics Foundation and the Standing Committee of the International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics has ended after forty years of fruitful cooperation (1978-2018).As a result, the Wigner Medal will no longer be awarded within the framework of the Colloquium. Therefore, the Standing Committee has organised a new award called Weyl-Wigner Award to fill the gap left by the Wigner Medal.

The first Weyl-Wigner Award will be awarded in Strasbourg in July 2022 coinciding with Group34.It is the aim of the Standing Committee that this new Weyl-Wigner Award keeps the high standards of quality and excellence of the Wigner Medal.


DATEJune 2, 2022
Related News
    • 0

      Qiuzhen College Held the Opening Ceremony of the 2022 Preparatory Class

      On March 24, the opening ceremony of the 2022 preparatory class of the YAU Mathematical Sciences Talents Program (hereinafter referred to as YMST Program) of Qiuzhen College in Tsinghua University was held in the Main Building. Xiqin Wang, President of Tsinghua University, and Shing-Tung Yau, Dean of Qiuzhen College, attended the event and delivered a speech.Xiqin Wang delivered a speechXiqin W...

    • 1

      Introducing the ICCM Creative Undergraduate Thesis Award

      To encourage young people to begin mathematical research during their undergraduate years, and to locate outstanding undergraduate students and creative papers, the ICCM Creative Undergraduate Thesis Award was established and conferred for the first time at the 9th International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM) by Prof. Shing-Tung Yau.Through judge recommendation and self-recommendatio...